Dessert · Paleo

Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookies

My cousin recently reached out to me that she was looking for a chocolate chip cookie recipe that she could:

A. Dive face first into, but
B. Feel good about it

I knew just the recipe for her!  I’ve been making these Paleo chocolate chip cookies for years, although I avoid them because:

A. I have a bad reaction to nuts and
B. I will dive face first into them

Since my kids LOVE these cookies, I make them for their school lunches and after-school snacks.  I have to hide them though, because if left on the counter, they will disappear within hours!

IMG_7754

Prep Time: 30 minutes
Cook Time: 12 minutes
Makes about 32 cookies

Recipe adapted from: Health.com

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 cups almond meal/flour
  • ½ cup melted coconut oil
  • ¼ cup almond butter (I use Trader Joe’s brand)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • ½ cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 cup dairy- and soy-free chocolate chips

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  • Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Mix well until batter is blended evenly.
  • Chill batter in the refrigerator for at least 15 minutes.
  • Roll batter into 1-inch balls and place on a greased baking sheet and then flatten with hand. I add a little coconut oil to my hands to keep it from sticking to my hands.
  • Bake cookies for approximately 10-12 minutes until cookies are lightly browned.
  • Remove cookies from baking sheet and allow to cool on wire rack.
  • Eat and enjoy!

IMG_7746 

Leave a Reply

