Create the Balance · Personal

More exciting news…

We’re having a baby!

Since our second date, Shane and I have always agreed on having 3 kids. He has 2 sisters, I have a brother & a sister (+ more step-siblings), 3 just sounded like a nice round number for our family. I want to share with you, that our journey to complete our family hasn’t been easy. Making a baby is no joke; it’s confusing, sad, exhausting, disappointing and at times, devastating. I have kept this part of my life extremely private for a reason, it’s very personal. Not even our close family and friends have known about our struggles. Our family has suffered 2 miscarriages and months upon months of trying to conceive naturally over the last 4 years. We have taken a few breaks and felt so discouraged by the process, that we considered giving up completely. A few months ago, on a whim (perhaps after a few glasses of wine), Shane and I decided to give it one last go, and here I am almost 14 weeks pregnant. We feel very fortunate, grateful and beyond blessed for this tiny miracle growing inside of me.

I will do some follow-up posts on why this explains my absence in food blogging. I was so sick in the first trimester – all food repulsed me. I’ll share how I battled the urges to eat off “plan,” yet allowed myself some grace during the first trimester.

With that said, let me introduce you to baby GIRL Makanani, due January 5, 2018.

FullSizeRender (1)

3 thoughts on “More exciting news…

  1. It’s very kind of you to share something so personal. So many women have experienced the same exact thing and need to relate to others. Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

