Create the Balance

I quit my full-time job…

I have some exciting news to share: I quit my job!

Well, sort of.  Let me explain….

When I started my Whole30 journey a few years ago, it’s obvious that it became a lifestyle that I wanted everyone to know about.  I started a Whole30 support page, reached out to friends and family to join me on a challenge and started my social media platforms to better support my community. It has been clear what my true passion is, and although it’s scary to embark on taking it to the next level – I knew I would regret it if I didn’t.

For the last 10 months, I have been working full-time as a Recruiting Coordinator at an IT Recruiting firm.  The company is great and the only complaint I have is the commute (1 hour each way).  Eventually, the time away from my family + the commute began to take a huge toll on my well-being. I also realized even thought I appreciated the opportunity, recruiting is not for me and my true passion is my blog and helping people complete successful Whole30 programs.  After months and months (and months) of going back and forth, my husband finally convinced me to quit to pursue my true passion.  THIS IS THE HARD PART.  I have never not worked, ever.  I have been working since I was 12 years old as a nanny and 15 years old in the work force.  I pride myself on contributing to my family and showing my kids that women do have an equal place in the work force. The unknown scares the shit out of me, and when I get scared, I hibernate and just don’t do anything.  It wasn’t until my husband (my biggest supporter and cheerleader) sent me THIS TEXT that it hit me, following my dreams will make me happier.

IMG_4838

Yeah, I cried too.

No more spending 10 hours a day at a job that provides zero satisfaction.  I am going to show my kids I can contribute, but in different ways. I am doing what I was meant to do, and yes, we may suffer a little financially, but we can work together to find ways to be creative with our budget.  Once I decided it was time, it was like a HUGE weight lifted off my shoulders and I felt this level of excitement I haven’t felt in quite some time.  I am taking the reigns on my future, and although it’s not clear where I’ll go – it’s somewhere that will make me happier and will fulfill me; I’m confident in my choice.

When I went to give my 2 weeks’ notice, the owner of the company counter-offered me an offer I couldn’t refuse.  He is absolutely 100% supportive of my dreams and said that he believes in me and my passion (which was great to hear).  But while I’m building my business, we could mutually benefit each other.  I continue to work for the company very part time (10-15 hours a week) and 100% from home (yay!).  I work a few hours a day, I get to spend the summer with my kids (which I have NEVER done before) and I get some extra cash in my pocket during this time where I am ramping up.   Sounds like pretty good gig, huh?

So, I started this new schedule last Monday and I must admit, it’s been wonderful.  I practiced yoga with my husband (haven’t done that in a long time), picked my kids up from school, grocery shopped DURING THE WEEKDAY, and did some work on my blog.

So, here’s where I need your help!  I have several ideas of what I want to do with my new-found freedom, but I want to hear from YOU!  What would help YOU?  My blog was created to share delicious PALEO and Whole30 meals for the busy family, while also encouraging and inspiring readers to eat more nutrient dense foods.  As a reader, what do you want more of?  Meal planning?  Meal prep? Grocery shopping?  Meal delivery?  Whole30 coaching?  I want to create a business centered around the needs of my followers – not just what I want to do.   Please message me via my blog, email (makanani.meals@gmail.com), private message me on Facebook or Instagram.  I will read your suggestions – I’m asking for them!

Thank you to everyone that has supported me thus far.  It’s YOU that have encouraged and inspired me on my journey, and I am forever grateful.

5 thoughts on “I quit my full-time job…

  1. Congratulations!!! What an amazing leap to take with an even more amazing support system! Good for you!! Could you maybe look at whole 30 or paleo freezer meals! While I thought summer would bring more time cornmeal prep, it seems as though we are even busier and I want some good make ahead meals I can freeze in single servings to later warm up for meals. Thanks and enjoy your new adventure!!

    Like

    1. Hi Tennile!

      Yes – I actually have a plan to do a blog post on “Meals to take new parents.” I believe this will go right along with what you are looking for. Hearty, healthy, nutrient dense foods that can easily be portioned out, frozen and reheated without sacrificing flavor/texture. I will let you know once it is posted! Thanks for your comment 🙂

      Brianne

      Like

  2. That’s awesome! So happy for you 🙂 I’d love to read more meal Planning, recipes, grocery shopping tips – like a weekly menu with recipes and a shopping list breakdown.
    Love any and all Whole 30 coaching too…I find myself googling “whole30 day 9” (or 10 or 20…whatever day it is) each day so I have a general idea of what to expect or see if what I’m feeling is “normal.”
    Good luck and enjoy following your passion!!
    Ps. Any whole 30 compliant bacon suggestions? I have yet to find one.

    Like

    1. Hi Nicole-

      I can definitely do meal plans with shopping lists! If you don’t mind me asking, how much would you realistically pay for a service like that? Would you want breakfast, lunch and dinner? Thanks for your comment – I appreciate it!

      Here are some suggestions for compliant bacon:
      https://grasslandbeef.com/sugar-free-pork-bacon-slices?affId=108183
      https://www.thesimplegrocer.com/collections/frontpage/products/uncured-no-sugar-bacon-whole30-approved?variant=35503232782
      http://www.wellshirefarms.com/allergy-free-foods-database/Sugar-Free-PALEO-Dry-Rubbed-Bacon-01115 (I have found this at Whole Foods. If you don’t have a Whole Foods near you, ask your local market if they would be open to ordering it for you).

      Like

  3. Congratulations Brianne! This is awesome. I love reading your blog and getting new recipe ideas (always looking for more instant pot recipes). 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

