Dinner · Eggs · Kid-friendly · Lunch · Paleo · Party dish · Pork · Whole30

Pizza Spaghetti Casserole (Paleo, Whole30 and Kid-Friendly)

Do you love pizza?

Growing up, Friday PIZZA NIGHT was a staple of my childhood. We ordered  pizza from either Round Table Pizza or Godfathers (RIP) and my sibs and I each took turns tipping the delivery dude.  We rented a movie from the local “movie store” (Blockbuster) and we each got our own can of Coca-Cola classic (big deal!).  We sat in the TV room with our giant box of pizza, eyes glued to the tube and guzzled our cans of coke.  That was then…….

Now, I can’t imagine eating an entire box of pizza, but I still have that craving that brings me back to the years of my childhood.  So when I discovered PALEOMG’s spaghetti pie – I realized that this would be a great substitute for those long-gone pizza days.  I hope this dish takes you on a trip down memory lane like it did for me……

IMG_4484.JPG

Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 1 hour, 30 minutes
Servings: 6

Recipe adapted from: PaleOMG

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 large spaghetti squash
  • 1 pound mild Italian sausage
  • ½ yellow onion, diced
  • 1 cup pizza sauce (RECIPE below)
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon pepper
  • 3 eggs, whisked
  • OPTIONAL: Desired pizza toppings*

Pizza Sauce (makes 3 cups)

  • 15 oz can tomato sauce
  • (2) 6 oz cans tomato paste
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1 teaspoon minced onion flakes
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • ½ teaspoon garlic powder
  • ½ teaspoon sea salt

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat the oven to 400°F.
  2. Cut the spaghetti squash in half lengthwise. Remove the seeds by scooping them out with a spoon. Place the squash cut side down on a baking sheet and bake for 30 to 35 minutes or until the skin gives when you press your finger to it. Remove the squash from the oven and reduce the oven temperature to 350°F.
  3. While the squash is cooking, start your pizza sauce. In a medium saucepan, over low heat, combine all ingredients and simmer for 10 minutes.
  4. Once squash is done cooking, remove threads and place in a 9×12 greased baking dish.
  5. Place a large pan over medium heat. Add mild Italian sausage and onion. Cook until pink no longer remains in the sausage and it is broken up into pieces. Drain fat.
  6. Add 1 cup of the pizza sauce, dried basil, salt and pepper to the pan and mix well.
  7. Add desired pizza toppings.
  8. Add sausage mixture to the 9×12 dish and mix well with spaghetti squash threads.
  9. Lastly, add whisked eggs to the baking dish and mix everything together until you can no longer see the eggs.
  10. Place in oven and bake for 1 hour or until the top of the mixture forms a slight crust that doesn’t give when you press on it in the middle of the dish.
  11. Let rest for 5 minutes before serving.

Additional Notes

  • *Desired pizza toppings: I add chopped green bell pepper, black olives and Applegate pepperoni. Since the pepperoni DOES have a small amount of sugar in it, it is NOT Whole30 compliant. Omit if you are on a Whole30.
  • The pizza sauce recipe makes 3 cups, separate into 1 cup portions and seal in individual containers and store in your freezer for future use.
  • This is a great make-ahead casserole. I make this on meal prep day (Sunday), but leave out the eggs. It will keep in the fridge for up to 3-4 days. On the day of, add eggs and bake.
  • On a Whole30?  This is a great dish to make on Sunday for an easy grab and go for the week.  I will often make this JUST for lunches or activity night dinners. Temptation lessens when I have a meal that takes 1 minute to warm up.
  • Serve on its own or with additional vegetables. I like it with a simple green salad and Dump Ranch.
  • Wanna spice it up? My husband adds a generous amount of red pepper flakes to his spaghetti pie.

Make Kid-Friendly

  • I will admit, it took quite a few times of making this for my kids to eat it. Consistently was my key to success. I always ask them what kind of pizza toppings they want and be sure to include them.
  • I also let them choose what kind of side vegetables they want. This time, my son chose carrots with ranch and my daughter chose carrots & cucumbers with ranch.

IMG_4494

One thought on “Pizza Spaghetti Casserole (Paleo, Whole30 and Kid-Friendly)

  1. I love this pizza alternative! Savory and very filling. I got lazy with the pizza sauce and bought it. This had all the flavor of a good pizza, just without the crust. Perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

