bacon · Eggs · Paleo · Party dish · Side Dish · Whole30

Deviled Eggs with Bacon & Jalapeno (Paleo & Whole30)

We hosted Easter this year and I wanted to make some kick-ass appetizers that my family would enjoy. I’ve made deviled eggs in the past and they went untouched, so I was taking a chance with this new recipe I found.  I love everything from Trina’s blog,  so I crossed my fingers and hoped at least half would be eaten.  I’m happy to report that not only were they all eaten within a matter of minutes (by all non-paleo eaters), but everyone asked for the recipe…..SUCCESS!  This would be a great side dish to bring to any gathering this spring and summer.

IMG_4273

Recipe adapted from: Trina’s Paleo Newbie

INGREDIENTS

  • 12 eggs, hard-boiled (purchase from Costco!)
  • ½ cup paleo mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard (read your label to be sure it’s compliant)
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 Tablespoon pickled jalapeños, diced small
  • 6 strips of cooked bacon, chopped very small
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Optional garnish: chives or green onions, chopped

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Hard boil 12 eggs. (See additional notes for instructions). Cool in ice bath, peel, and cut lengthwise in half.
  2. Gently squeeze egg halves and scoop out yolks with spoon or fingers. Place yolks together in a bowl. Mash well with the mayonnaise and the dry seasonings.
  3. Next add the pickled jalapeños and about two-thirds of the chopped bacon (save the rest of the bacon to sprinkle on top). Stir to combine.
  4. Taste and add salt and pepper if desired.
  5. Place deviled yolk mixture in a plastic baggie, clip the corner of the bag, and pipe mixture into center of eggs. Or, just use a spoon.
  6. Garnish with an extra dash of paprika and chopped chives if desired.
  7. Sprinkle with remaining chopped bacon.

ADDITIONAL NOTES

  • Make your life easier and purchase already hard-boiled and peeled eggs from Costco.
  • If buying pre-boiled eggs is not available to you, THIS is the recipe that I follow to make perfect hard-boiled eggs.
  • The amount of pickled jalapeno in this recipe provides just a tad amount of heat, if you like it hot –add more!
  • For the bacon, I prefer to bake mine and follow THIS recipe.
  • I knew my kids wouldn’t eat the deviled eggs, but I wanted mother-in-law to try it as well (she doesn’t like spice), so I left out the jalapeno in 3 of the eggs. She loved them!

    IMG_4280

Leave a Reply

