Chicken · Crockpot · Dinner · Kid-friendly · Paleo · Whole30

Slow Cooker Curry Chicken (Whole30, Paleo & Kid-Friendly)

I’ve been following Lexi’s Clean Kitchen for a while now and one dish I keep meaning to try is this slow cooker chicken curry dish. My first thought was to INSTANT POT the heck out of it, but then I kind of felt sorry for my sad & lonely crock-pot that has been collecting dust since we brought home our shiny new Instant Pot. So I decided to go along with the original recipe instructions and brought back old faithful to my kitchen game.

I paired the curry chicken with my Coconut Cauliflower Rice and roasted asparagus & baby bell peppers (just oil, salt & pepper at 400 for 15 minutes).  The flavors all melded together nicely and I’m pumped to try the leftovers tonight!

IMG_4112

Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 4 hours
Servings: 6

Recipe adapted from: Lexi’s Clean Kitchen

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 14-ounce can full-fat coconut milk
  • 1 tablespoon fish sauce
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tablespoon ginger, minced
  • 2 tablespoons curry powder
  • Pinch red pepper flakes (omit for kid-friendly)
  • 1 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • ½ teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 ½ pounds boneless chicken breasts
  • Cilantro, for serving
  • Chopped scallions, for serving

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Place sliced onion in the bottom of the insert of your slow cooker
  2. Add coconut milk, garlic, ginger, fish sauce, lime juice, sesame oil, and spices. Toss to combine.
  3. Add in chicken and mix to coat.
  4. Set on high for 4 hours, or low for 8 hours. When done, shred with two forks.
  5. Serve over my Coconut Cauliflower Rice and add some roasted vegetables for added flavor.
  6. Garnish with scallions and/or cilantro.

MAKE IT KID-FRIENDLY
(not Whole30/Paleo)

To my complete shock, my kids gobbled this right up.  I served over white rice with my Green Smoothie.

  • Serve over white rice.
  • Serve with choice vegetable (carrots/cucumber/celery) and Dump Ranch.

IMG_4121

One thought on “Slow Cooker Curry Chicken (Whole30, Paleo & Kid-Friendly)

Leave a Reply

