Beef · Breakfast · Paleo · Whole30

Corned Beef & Sweet Potato Hash (Whole30 & Paleo)

When I was a kid, one of my favorite dishes to share with my dad was corned beef hash.  You know, the canned “food” that looked like it should be given to a dog?  That’s the one, and I’m not ashamed to admit that I loved it. I like to think I forced myself to love it  because it was something just my dad and I ate together. Luckily, I took away one good thing from this meal: my love for fried eggs! As I grew older I realized that I do love the taste of corned beef and together with potatoes and an over-easy egg, well, that’s perfection.  I decided to bench white potatoes this time and add a different dimension with sweet potatoes. The sweet potatoes offer just a little bit of sweetness to offset the saltiness of the meat, which made this dish burst with flavor and color.

I used leftover corned beef from my Instant Pot Corned Beef recipe.

IMG_3660

Prep Time 10 minutes
Cook Time 15 minutes
Servings: 2

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 small sweet potato, peeled and cut into 1/2 inch cubes
  • ¼ onion, diced
  • 3 Tablespoons cooking fat
  • ½ lb cooked corned beef, chopped into ½ inch pieces
  • Pinch red pepper flakes
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 2 eggs

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Place cooking fat in large skillet over medium-high heat.
  2. Once fat has melted, add onions to skillet and cook for 3 minutes, stirring.
  3. Add sweet potatoes, and season with salt & pepper, stir. Cover and let cook for 8-10 minutes.
  4. Add corned beef to skillet and stir to combine, let cook for 5 minutes.
  5. In a separate skillet over medium heat, melt 1 Tablespoon of cooking fat.
  6. Crack 2 eggs into a small bowl.
  7. Once oil has melted, pour eggs into skillet. Cover and cook until desired doneness (I cook about 6 minutes).
  8. REPEAT steps 6 & 7 for the second dish.
  9. Once hash is done, dish out onto 2 plates – garnish with red pepper flakes and parsley.
  10. Remove eggs from heat and place on top of hash, season with salt and pepper.

IMG_3668

IMG_3666

Leave a Reply

