Create the Balance · Dessert · Kid-friendly · Paleo · Vegetarian

Chocolate Chip Cookies (Paleo, Nut-free)

I love cookies. Like LOVE cookies.  My husband calls me a cookie monster as I could easily eat an entire box of cookies in one sitting. As a part of my Food Freedom Forever, I’ve accepted this about myself and like an addict, try to control it (LOLz).
I am always on the hunt for a good cookie, one that is especially nut-free.  I’m not allergic to nuts, my gut just does not handle them. This is something rarely talked about on the Whole30 program; when compliant foods aren’t “compliant” with your body.  Shane and I both discovered this about a year ago.  We cannot tolerate nuts and/or dried fruits (sad face).
So when I stumbled upon the Against All Grain recipe this week, I was skeptical, but really had nothing to lose.  The original recipe calls for tahini, but since I didn’t have any on hand (and I REALLY wanted a cookie), I replaced it with sunflower seed butter – it worked!
These cookies are SO.DAMN.GOOD.  Everyone in my family loved them….so much so, I was kind and didn’t eat all of them….just 7.

IMG_3374.JPG

Prep Time 15 minutes
Cook Time 15 minutes
Servings – Makes 15-20 cookies

Recipe adapted from: Against All Grain, Meals Made Simple cookbook

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 large egg whites
  • ¼ cup coconut oil, melted
  • 2/3 cup coconut sugar
  • ¼ cup honey
  • 1 cup sunflower seed butter
  • 1/2 cup arrowroot powder
  • 3 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup dairy- and soy-free chocolate chips  (reserve 1/4 cup)



INSTRUCTIONS

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  • In the bowl of a stand mixer or using an electric hand mixer, beat the egg white, coconut oil, coconut crystals, and honey on medium speed until smooth.
  • Add the sunflower seed butter, arrowroot powder, vanilla salt, and baking soda and beat on medium speed for 15 seconds, then on high for 15 seconds, until well incorporated. Stir in the 3/4 cups chocolate chips.
  • Drop spoonfuls of dough onto the baking sheet (the “dough” will be runny – this is normal), then gently spread the dough a bit with the back of the spoon. The dough can also be left as mounds for less crispy cookies.
  • Remember that 1/4 cup reserved chocolate chips?  Sprinkle a few of the chocolate chips on each cookie before popping in the oven.
  • Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, until golden brown. Allow to cool on a wire rack.IMG_3378
One thought on “Chocolate Chip Cookies (Paleo, Nut-free)

Leave a Reply

