Instant Pot · Kid-friendly · Pressure Cooker

Corned Beef & Cabbage and Green Smoothie  (Instant Pot & Kid-Friendly)

It’s not often I have a huge fail in the kitchen. I’d say (and my husband can confirm), 98% of the dishes I make are pretty awesome.  However, there is that 2%, and I’d like to mention the exact dish that is that 2% in 2016: St. Patrick’s day corned beef and cabbage.  I had really high hopes for my holiday dish and it was a TOTAL FAIL.  Meat was overcooked, vegetables were undercooked – we ended up eating German instead of Irish that day……
So this year I feel like I need to redeem myself and I knew just who to call upon: Instant Pot!

Just to note, I thought this meal was Whole30 and Paleo, however after reading the label more carefully, I discovered there is a small amount of brown sugar in the corned beef.  BE SURE TO READ YOUR LABELS!!

IMG_2941.JPG

Prep Time: 5 minutes
Cook Time: 2 hours
Servings: 6

Recipe adapted from: Gutsy By Nature

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 corned beef brisket (5 pounds)
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 small onion, peeled and quartered
  • 3 garlic cloves, peeled and smashed
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 3 whole black peppercorns
  • ½ teaspoon allspice
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme (or 3-4 sprigs of fresh)
  • 1½ pounds small or medium red potatoes
  • 5 medium carrots, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 1 head cabbage, cut into wedges

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Place corned beef, water, onion quarters, garlic cloves, peppercorns, allspice, and thyme in Instant Pot. Lock lid in place and press manual and set time for 90 minutes.
  2. When cooking is complete, switch pressure cooker off and allow pressure to release naturally for 10 minutes, then quick release any remaining pressure.
  3. Remove the meat from the liquid and transfer to a plate. Cover with tin foil and allow to rest for 15 minutes while you prepare the vegetables.
  4. Add potatoes, carrots, and cabbage to liquid in Instant Pot and lock lid in place. Press manual and set time for 10 minutes.
  5. When cooking is complete, quick release pressure. Use a slotted spoon to remove vegetables and serve with slices of corned beef, using some of the cooking liquid to moisten the meat and vegetables if necessary.

MAKE IT KID-FRIENDLY

I knew my kids would eat the corned beef, Jackson actually really enjoyed my over-cooked meat last year.  However, I knew the cabbage, potatoes and carrots would be an absolute no.  So in addition to the corned beef, I gave them raw carrots and made them a “green smoothie” to get them in the spirit of St. Patrick’s Day.  Not only did they LOVE this smoothie (that is sneaky sneaky, packed with spinach), they asked for it the next morning!

IMG_3008

GREEN SMOOTHIE

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cups baby spinach
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 3 cups combination of frozen mango & pineapple chunks
  • 1 banana, peeled
  • 1 orange, peeled and sliced
  • 2 Tbsp honey
  • 2 scoops collagen peptides (optional)

Blend ingredients in blender. Serve cold.

IMG_3003
I tried to tell them it was good for them. They didn’t believe me.

 

2 thoughts on “Corned Beef & Cabbage and Green Smoothie  (Instant Pot & Kid-Friendly)

Leave a Reply

