Breakfast · Dinner · Lunch · Paleo · Vegetarian · Whole30

Sweet Potato & Kale Hash (Whole30, Paleo, Vegetarian)

On my very first Whole30, I stumbled upon THIS recipe.  I swear, this dish got me through my Whole30 when I thought I couldn’t survive one more day.  It reminds me that I CAN get through the day, because I’ve gone on to complete 9 more Whole30’s.  Okay, enough with the deep stuff  – let’s get to the recipe.

I love this hash because it’s simple, flavorful, packed with good carbs and reheats really really well.  I’ll often double it (for a quick reheat and added egg on busy weekday mornings), or to appease my meat-loving husband, add in some cooked & chopped up bacon.  This dish can be served as a main dish with the egg on top, or as a side dish  – it’s very versatile.  I hope you love it as much as I do.

sweet-potato-hash

Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 20 minutes
Servings: 4

Ingredients

2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into a fine ¼” dice

2 shallots, finely sliced

1 red bell pepper, finely diced

2 – 3 cups fresh kale (ribs removed and chopped)

1 teaspoon cumin

1 teaspoon paprika

Pinch red pepper flakes

Kosher salt

Freshly ground black pepper

4 eggs

Extra virgin olive oil


Instructions

  1. Heat 4 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Once hot, add in the finely diced sweet potatoes, finely sliced shallot, diced red bell pepper, cumin, paprika, red pepper flakes, and season very generously with Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper.
  2. Cook mixture, stirring occasionally, until sweet potatoes are cooked through and tender, about 15-18 minutes.
  3. Add kale into the skillet approximately during the last 5 minutes of cooking. Taste the hash and season with additional salt or pepper if needed.
  4. As the hash is finishing up cooking, heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-low heat. Once hot (adding a droplet of water to the pan should make it sizzle), crack open eggs and add them, one at a time, into the skillet. Season with salt and pepper and cover with a lid. This will help the tops of the whites to set before overcooking the bottom of the eggs. The eggs are done cooking once the whites are just set (the yolk will still be runny).
  5. Divide the hash among four plates, topping each with one of sunny-side up eggs. Sprinkle the egg with some freshly ground pepper, drizzle with some hot sauce (completely optional).
3 thoughts on “Sweet Potato & Kale Hash (Whole30, Paleo, Vegetarian)

  1. Wow this was so savory and filling. Baby friendly too…I fed her the sweet potato. Once again, great meal idea to add to the roster.

    Like

  2. Such an savory & inexpensive meal. I had this for dinner & breakfast. Love the fried egg! It elevates the entire meal. And because I like something acidic in every meal, I topped it with hot sauce.

    Like

Leave a Reply

